CEP 810 Final Reflection

Flickr photo by: Denise Krebs. Used under a Creative Commons license.

Flickr photo by: Denise Krebs. Used under a Creative Commons license.

I can’t believe 7 weeks have flown by and CEP 810 has come to an end! I took this course as an elective for my MA studies in learning disabilities, and I am so glad I did. Technology is the way of the future in education, and I have learned many things in this course that will enhance my teaching next year and in the future.

The TPACK model was one of the most important things I learned in this class. When content, pedagogy and technology are balanced, the best teaching occurs. Technology can be and should be creatively used and repurposed to meet the learning needs of my students. The very way this class is structured, using the learning cycles (Learn, Explore, Create, Share), has helped me as a student learn how technology can be incorporated into my own practice. I plan to share these same principles with my co-teacher and hope to implement them in our physics classroom. I would love to focus this year on the concept of CREATE, and incorporate a project in our physics class where our students create a video to demonstrate their learning. As we learned in this course, having students create videos to demonstrate their learning is a powerful technology tool. I had never created my own video and uploaded it to YouTube before this class, but now that I see how simple it is and would like my students do the same.

I also learned a lot from the Getting Things Done lesson. The tips on workflow have been instrumental in my attempt to stay organized personally and professionally. The productivity tool I dabbled with, Wunderlist, has quickly become my go-to app each morning for the day’s to-do list. I plan on sticking with the tool during the school year to organize the many things I need to remember to do in a day. The GTD lesson may have made the biggest change for me .

In CEP 810 we were also required to explore many other technology tools such as YouTube, Popplet, Google Drive, WordPress Blog, etc. Through exploration, my understanding of these tools has deepened and I will be able to not only continue to use them for myself, but repurpose them to enhance my students learning. My professional practice will also change because I will be using YouTube and the internet to learn things that I don’t know how to do. Sometimes I don’t know certain concepts to help my resource room students with their homework, but now I have the information at my fingertips and could quickly search for a video to find what I am looking for.

For this course we were also required to create a Twitter account. Twitter was something that I was reluctant to join, but I am glad I did as I have been able to expand my professional learning network. I am following many other educators and MAET students that it would be nice to connect with in the future. I will also continue to use Feedly, the RSS news reader, to follow and stay on top of current issues in the world of education.

As a resource room teacher, I don’t have control over how the content area teachers deliver their instruction to our students. I do have flexibility in how the content is delivered in my co-taught physics class, so that is where I will be incorporating most of the information I have learned in this course. The question that remains for me is how can I repurpose technology tools for my resource room students to support in the instruction that was already delivered to them? With the foundations I have learned in this class, I have a great starting point and feel motivated to incorporate more technology into my teaching this school year.

 

 

 

One thought on “CEP 810 Final Reflection

  1. Ben Rimes says:

    Despite having taken this class as an elective, I can say with some authority that you rocked it, and would do quite well in the full MAET program!

    I’m heartened by your desire to push toward a more student-creation focused model in your classroom, including students publishing their own media to the web! Beyond the student production of learning videos, it will be easy to push into student creation of questions, curiosities, and challenges in a physics classroom; bookending the learning process through reflective media would be fantastic for you, especially on the heals of your recent adventures with Youtube.

    I hope that your experiences in your co-taught class will give you the confidence to encourage other teachers in your building to attempt the same type of exploration into social media. You’re in an enviable position to experiment and play with new tools, media, and instructional practice before introducing your successes and failures to large groups of students and teachers in your building. I’m excited for the opportunities you’ll have!

Leave a Reply

