Cooking with TPACK: Peanut Butter and Jelly with a Potato Masher

This week in CEP810 I was given a challenge to “cook” something using a bowl, plate, and a kitchen utensil. All three items were chosen randomly by my husband without him knowing the purpose. He also drew the number “4” out of a hat, which meant I was making a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Watch my video to see how I repurposed a potato masher to make a PB&J sandwich!

At first I was skeptical of how I was going to use a potato masher for this task. I was actually able to repurpose the handle of the masher for scooping and spreading my peanut butter and jelly, and it even worked better than I expected! The sharp edge of the masher worked well for cutting the sandwich in two pieces. A potato masher seemed like it wouldn’t be a useful tool at the beginning, but it actually gave me the same results as if I would have used the preferred utensil, a knife. In the end I had a delicious tasting peanut butter and jelly sandwich!

This activity is actually related to what teachers do daily in their classrooms. Teachers use resources they have available to make authentic learning experiences for their students. This follows the TPACK framework which outlines how good teaching happens at the intersection of content, pedagogy, and technology. One of the TPACK creators, Dr. Mishra, emphasizes that teachers have a variety of different technologies available to them and it is our job as educators to repurpose and customize them to meet the needs of our students. Actually, he argues, only repurposing makes a technology an educational technology.

TPACK

Used with permission from TPACK.org

The TPACK model and this activity will help me think about how I can repurpose technology in my own classroom. Like the repurposing of a potato masher to make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, creatively using technology tools available will enhance my students’ learning!

 

Leave a Reply

