Networked Learning Project Part 1: Rustic-looking Wood Wall Art

A little over a year ago my husband and I purchased our first home. We did some renovations to update what hadn’t been updated since the 1970’s…which was pretty much everything. As most home renovations go, we blew through our budget really fast. When the construction crews left, I had a gorgeous home, but a fraction of the budget I had originally planned to use for furniture and decorating. We hung a few pictures and mirrors on our walls that we had previously, but most of the walls remained bare. We bought the essentials (couch, kitchen table, chairs) and planned to decorate slowly overtime. During Nordstrom’s anniversary sale last summer, I fell in love with and splurged on a rustic-looking re-purposed wood wall art (HERE). The original price was $118, I paid $70. I couldn’t pass it up because the saying fit our family vibe and new home perfectly. We hung it in our family room and I love seeing it every day. Here it is in our home.photo (1)

I would love to decorate more spaces in our home with rustic-looking wood signs, but I don’t want to spend the money. I have always thought it would be fun to learn how to make them, but with a one-year-old at home, it hasn’t happened.

Luckily for me (and my bank account), the Networked Learning Project for my CEP 810 course has given me the excuse to finally add more wall art to my home and give rustic wood sign making a try! The challenge is to learn how to do something using only YouTube and online help forums. I am a fairly creative person, but I have never done anything like this before…especially since I could potentially be using a nail gun or power tools to cut wood (oh my!).

I have done some preliminary research and realized that there are so many different ways to make a rustic-looking wood sign. These are the decisions I still need to make:

  1. What type of wood do I want to use? Where can I find it?
  2. Where I want to hang it in my home and what do I want it to say?
  3. Do I want to use vinyl lettering or paint with stencil/freehand?

These are some of the sites I think will be helpful:

  1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7gLFN0yMD0
  2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDhk4oaWd04
  3. http://www.thecountrychiccottage.net/2012/04/hunger-games-love-quote-sign-in.html
  4. http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/2012/03/wood-love-sign.html

Stay tuned over the next few weeks for updates on my journey!

 

3 thoughts on “Networked Learning Project Part 1: Rustic-looking Wood Wall Art

  1. Ben Rimes says:

    I’d say your young family is off to a much better start than our was when we purchased our first home back in 2006! Nice to have some money for renovations, even if the extra decorative details do have to be sacrificed. Love the idea of the reclaimed wooden wall art, and for the price you paid, creating some on your own should be perfect!

    I wonder if you might even be able to find some pieces that you could reclaim and break down for free from some local charities or places like the Habitat Restore; they’re always good for old furniture and pieces that you can break apart and re-use piece from on the cheap.

    • Hi Ben!
      You will not believe it… in the afternoon after writing this post, I spotted some scrap wood someone had taken to the curb for trash…so I scooped it up! It will be perfect for this project. Best part is that it was FREE! The wood is not very old, but I think I can make it look rustic with some of the techniques I am learning. I took some pictures of my trash picking to post…BUT my iPhone tragically took a dip in the pool the next day. Darn it!

Leave a Reply

