The Path of Lifelong Learning

For my first assignment in CEP 810 this week, I have been asked to read Bransford, Brown & Cocking’s (2000) How People Learn (found HERE) and explore the ideas of learning, understanding, and conceptual change in an essay. In my essay, which can be found HERE, I talk about the strategies educators can use to help students develop a deeper understanding, and reach their greatest potential. In order for conceptual change to take place, I stress the importance of delving into students’ misconceptions and creating dialogue in the classroom that supports new learning. In addition, to deepen students’ understanding of content, I touch on the importance of asking questions, as well as broadening the focus from memorizing disconnected facts to focusing on larger concepts. I hope you enjoy reading my essay and I welcome you to leave comments!

And….that’s my second blog post…EVER! (Pretty cool!)

 

4 thoughts on “The Path of Lifelong Learning

  1. Hello Brie!
    I really enjoyed reading your ideas about what “true learning” is. I especially appreciated your remark that “Learning is gaining new knowledge from what is taught and experienced.” I really liked how you tied in the experiences of students and how their preconceptions can help or hinder how and what they learn in the classroom. I notice that you use repetition to overcome these misconceptions. I wonder if there are other ways to correct a child’s understanding.
    I am a physics and math teacher so I really enjoyed your reference to the physics classroom. When students realize things fall at the same rate the look on their face is priceless. What do you do when there isn’t a demonstration to show a student the fault in their concept of the world (or school topic)?

    • Hello!
      Another physics teacher! I have been co-teaching physics for three years as the special ed side of the duo. I absolutely love the subject! If I wasn’t able to provide my students with a demonstration to show them, I would have them find evidence on their own. The student would find some way for them to demonstrate the misconception along side the real physics. Perhaps YouTube videos would work here. Thanks for your reply!

  2. Brie,

    After reading your essay one thing I noticed is how much you emphisized questioning and how important it is for students to question their thinking and ask why? I really like your physics misconception example (I remember when I was in physics that was very confusing).

  3. Ben Rimes says:

    Congratulations on your second blog post ever 🙂

    If you continue to write as professionally as you have in your essay, with a clear grounding in your personal experience and understanding of your students’ questions, I’d say you have a lot more successful blog posts ahead.

Leave a Reply

